Who I am and Why I’m Here

I’ve always been terrified of blogging.  Probably because it involves so much white space just staring blankly, waiting to twist jumbled thoughts into incongruous public declarations.  So here I am.  Awesome. 

All sarcasm aside, the things we’re most afraid of (or anxious at least) tend to be the things most worth the risk.

My name is Ashley, and I’m a college student in Kansas City.  I’m going to school for marketing or something between business and graphic design, or maybe even something to do with computers.  I started school because I was a stylist and massage therapist who was bored, unfulfilled, unchallenged, and unsatisfied.  Being a stylist was one of my dreams since I was young, but it didn’t live up to hardly any of my expectations.  So I started digging around in medical majors, seriously anything from physical therapy to neurology.  I absolutely love science, the human body, health and nutrition… biochemistry even, but nothing quite fit.  So I re-evaluated and decided that I wanted to emphasize my creative side.  I’ve come to terms that the quickest way to sum all this up: I’m an entrepreneur.

I quit my job, switched majors, moved twice, and invested into starting my own business.  All within the last 8 months. What was the most stressful part of all that?  Starting this blog.

Just kidding 🙂

I actually fell in love with writing before I ever loved cosmetology or massage therapy. I’m pretty confident that I started writing before 4th grade.  I’ve never produced any work, but I think there’s a seed in the back of my mind that would be delighted to make an impact in the world using my writing.  I love linguistics and I hope I can further develop my skills.  My ultimate desire and passion would be to help other people, and if I could create a virtual space that has the ability to be of use to others, I would be extremely content.

Until then, hopefully this will be bearable.

Happy Tuesday everyone 🙂

–Ashley

6 thoughts on “Who I am and Why I’m Here

  1. Hi Ashley! I know you only from front desk at Snap… Although I have only time to glance at your blog – I’d say you definitely have talent for writing! Good for you for learning to be your own boss early on… Entrepreneurship…. As I have 39 yrs in management within large corp – pay is great but work never satisfying …. Keep going!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well… Not sure about “work” for fun… But I try to ensure I do have fun in my personal life. I did read your entire blog now and I must say – very thought provoking. Even at an older age – applicable at any age really. I’ve noticed these last few yrs I’m quite selective in what I do with my personal time … No more saying yes to accommodate if I really don’t want to… That was very freeing for me! So one never really stops self discovery and growth no matter what stage of life … Rather amazing to me! Looking forward to more thought-provoking blogs and discussions!

        Like

Leave a Reply

