Power in the Little Things

The little things make all the difference:

Have you ever heard that at all times you’re either helping or hurting, moving one step closer to your dreams or one step further from your dreams?

The little things in life can be so beautiful yet at times so mundane.

Often my thoughts get jumbled and it’s hard to separate ideas. Which is one reason (of many) that I appreciate you, my lovely reader, bearing with me as I develop my blogging/writing/communication skills.

So bear with me a little longer. . . let’s suppose for a few minutes that the little, easily overlooked things are the most important in life. [I’m also starting to develop this theory that life is paradoxical, which this idea fits into neatly enough]

So what are the smallest parts of life? What do we take the most for granted every day?

Perhaps connection could be a small, yet vitally important detail in life. What seems most important to those who have almost lost their life?

They mourn over lost relationships, and rejoice in strong and loving relationships.

In fact, on that note: maybe that’s a good path to take for finding out what’s truly important. What do people stress about during those crucial near-death experiences? Here’s some thoughts from Google results:

  1. Recognize that you are small and of insignificance, yet still immensely precious.
  2. Live the life the way you want to live it: live a life fulfilled. You MUST do what you love in life.
  3. Find inner peace: balance and health.
  4. Relationships are the top priority of life, and connection is why we’re here. Ego makes your world very small and isolated; it is a very lonely state.
  5. Friends are epic. Friends and family come before all else.
  6. The mind is a great healer: you are capable of anything.
  7. The world is beautiful and completely uncertain. Die well.
  8. Life is a gift- don’t put it to waste.  “If we forget how precious we are, we don’t honor our own gift of life.”
  9. Don’t ever not do something just because of fear. Fearlessness is not the absence of fear or conquering fear, but accepting your fear and acting anyway.
  10. Worry less, just ask the right questions. Don’t ever stop asking questions. Everything is relative.

“To love is to risk not being loved in return. To hope is to risk pain. To try is to risk failure, but risk must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing.”

I’ve done a lot of re-evaluating in my life, especially when it comes to importancy vs urgency. [yes I realize I might have just made up a word. You should try it, it’s fun. And according to people dying, grammar isn’t that important anyway].

Common advice: go to school, work hard, get a steady job. Please don’t misunderstand, it’s definitely not bad advice or poor personal values.

However, if I judge that doing these specific items won’t lead me to a life that I love, connected and meaningful relationships, or that I’m making these choices out of fear, then it’s not the best advice.

It can be a difficult decision to choose an uncomfortable, risky, unknown path, especially when your friends and family are afraid for you and society’s standards tell you that your decisions don’t measure up.

In the moment, it can be almost debilitating to hear the disappointment in a loved one’s voice and the disapproval in a friend’s eyes. However, how much more difficult is it to live with a person that’s constantly unhappy, wanting more, and lets fear dictate his or her life?

I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to explore and experiment with what I love to do, what I’m called to do or what I’m truly passionate about. Of course, I still don’t have it completely figured out – I don’t think we ever do.

By listening to that small quiet voice deep down, I’ve been able to sift through my values, my life-priorities and reasons for living, and those activities that bring me happy-dolphin-joyfulness. Is that sometimes tough and scary? Absolutely. Do I make mistakes? Absolutely! It’s worth it, it’s so worth it.

Get it out of your head that you have to figure out the “how” and start focusing on “why.”

You can choose a million different directions and they’re all going to turn out just fine; each one will change in ways you can’t foresee at this moment. What makes the difference, and how do you know which one to choose?

Purpose. Your “why” will steer you.

When you get crystal clear about your goals and your vision in life [your “why”], life/God/whatever-you-believe-in will take care of the rest.

It’s a simple, little idea that’s repeated often and applied sparsely: live a life authentic to who you are. . . do what you love and you’ll love who you are. . . honor the gift of life. . . Everything else will take care of itself and life will begin to make sense.

Thanks for reading,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

